Testing Craze

If there is ever a reason to hate being a teenager in high school is all the testing; AP tests, AICE tests, EOCs, DDEOC’s. Us teenagers get all of this thrown at us in a matter of one month – sometimes having more than one test per day.

Just two days ago I officially started my very own testing season. With the English Language Paper I practically sneaking behind my backs I was very stressed out. I didn’t feel like my teacher had prepared me enough or maybe i just didn’t understand the concept.

There are so many things to look for when analyzing a passage, and each type of passage is different. When analyzing a speech: persuasion, aimed at a broad audience therefore colloquial language, appealing (a lot of use of the words “we” and “us”). When analyzing an article always look for contrast, pay close attention to characters other than author, tie words together.

There are so many things to look for and so much to remember I just don’t know if I did good. The better part of the story is: there is still Paper II, III, and IV of English and Paper I and II of Global Perspectives.

These courses are part of the Cambridge curriculum in which the students take AICE classes and exams and at the end of senior year, if all the exams were passed then the student obtains an AICE diploma.

I hope i don’t break down between now and June 4th.

And this is only sophomore year.

Leave a Reply

