Chasing a True Life

“So many people walk around with a meaningless life. They seem half-asleep, even when they’re busy doing things they think are important. This is because they’re chasing the wrong things. The way you get meaning into your life is to devote yourself to loving others, devote yourself to your community around you, and devote yourself to creating something that gives you purpose and meaning.” 

In this millennium, today’s generation, how many people die wishing they had done more? Energy and time is spent trying to reach a goal that’s more important to our peers than us. Real value isn’t inculcated in children anymore; people are taught it’s a dog-eat-dog world out there.

It all starts in the home. I believe this is like education and respect, it starts all the way in the beginning and then builds up. Nowadays little kids just yearn for that new toy and for that sweet candy and to win at the little baseball leagues. Very little times infants get sad because grandma forgot to give them a big smooch on the cheek or mom forgot to lick her finger and fix their hair. From the very beginning, today’s kids ask and ask away for Christmas presents and birthday presents and that toy their daycare friend has that they don’t.

My daily routine: wake up, go to school, do homework, eat, sleep. I focus all my attention on grades because that’s what I’ve always been taught to do. I understand there is a goal I should be working towards. The common goal for everyone with big dreams – to go to a renowned university – but it’s always been my mother who drilled it in me. Morrie talks about doing the things that are really important like loving yourself and loving others but how can we do it if we’re constantly working to reach newer and bigger places?

I have always been taught to strive, sometimes no matter the consequences. I myself am one of those kids that was taught it’s a dog-eat-dog world and to not be scared to reach high. I am guilty of caring about myself more than others. I don’t give to the community around me just because they might get smart enough to surpass me on my way to the top. Giving love isn’t something I make time for and if I get some from my mom from time to time I guess that’s enough. I’ve always been a little independent woman since my diaper days and that’s made for a little harsh personality. I work towards a goal and tell myself after this I will be free and able to be a little more giving, heartier. The truth is, the cycle never ends.

“More, more, more” seems to be everyone’s mantra these days. The more we achieve the farther we want to go. It’s all about testing limits and seeing who we can beat in the process. From one perspective, this is what we were born to do. The Darwinian form of natural selection says the strongest and biggest survives and no animal ever thrived by devoting themselves to the community. Ambition can drive people crazy but it’s also what drives us and what makes the world go round. Because we chase these jobs and gifts and expensive materials is why the whole economy and work force exists.

All the time all around the around the world people are leaving their family and their quality time together with the thought that “if I just finish this one more and then I can have this wee bit more money then I’ll be fine”. Honestly, this never happens and so it never ends. I believe it takes a real detached and relaxed person to achieve the point of tranquility and purity that is essential for this mentality of giving to take on. I also believe 95% of the world isn’t capable of such things.

One thought on “Chasing a True Life

Leave a Reply

